Where the power goes in a humanoid
Texas Instruments' application brief on humanoids counts about 40 permanent-magnet servo motors in a typical body excluding the hands, with a dozen or more micro motors in each hand. Finger motors draw a few amps; hip and leg motors draw 100 A or more. The brief puts the driver on a ring-shaped board of 5 to 10 cm diameter inside the joint, which is the constraint the rest of this article is about: the inverter must fit in the joint, run from the robot's battery bus and shed its own heat there. [1]
The bus is usually near 48 V. Unitree's G1 runs from a 13-cell series pack of 9,000 mAh charged by a 54 V, 5 A charger; the page gives no watt-hour figure, and the 48 V class is inferred from the cell count. The H1 pack is stated as 15 Ah and 0.864 kWh with a 67.2 V maximum. Figure's 2024 release gives Figure 02 a 2.25 kWh pack; Apptronik lists hot-swappable Apollo packs of four hours each; Boston Dynamics' Atlas sheet gives four hours, a three-minute swap and a 1.5 hour charge with no capacity. The commercial joint actuators that these buses feed are rated at 24 or 48 V. [2] [3] [4] [5] [6]
| Actuator | Bus voltage | Torque, rated / peak | Current, rated / peak | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unitree GO-M8010-6 | 12 to 30 V, 24 V recommended | Not stated / 23.7 N·m | Not stated / 40 A | Unitree page |
| CubeMars AK80-9 KV100 | 48 V | 9 / 18 N·m | 10.3 / 22.3 A | CubeMars page |
| MyActuator RMD-X8-P20-120 | 48 V | 43 / 110 N·m | 17.6 / 43.8 A RMS | MyActuator manual |
| MyActuator RMD-X12-P20-320 | 48 V | 100 / 320 N·m | 30 / 100 A RMS | MyActuator manual |
A hip actuator at 100 A RMS peak on a 48 V bus is the sizing case for a leg driver; a wrist at 10 to 15 A is the sizing case for the small ring boards below. The MyActuator manual also gives the thermal limit that datasheets rarely state: the X8 holds 129 N·m stall at 43.8 A for 5 s with a 30 °C rise, which is the kind of figure a joint's duty cycle has to be planned around. [7] [8] [9]
What a GaN stage changes: frequency, dead time, capacitors
A silicon MOSFET joint drive typically switches at 8 to 32 kHz with a dead time around 1 µs between the two transistors of a phase leg; a GaN phase leg switches at 40 to 100 kHz with a dead time of 10 to 20 ns. Those two numbers are the whole argument. Shorter dead time means less distortion of the phase current near zero crossings; higher frequency means smaller current ripple, which lets the DC-link capacitor shrink from an electrolytic to ceramics and lets a low-inductance motor run without extra filtering. [1] [10]
The one peer-reviewed silicon-versus-GaN drive measurement found for this article is by Palma, Musumeci, Mandrile and Barba at Politecnico di Torino, IEEE WiPDA 2021. On a 36 V, 5 A RMS drive at 400 rpm they ran silicon at 20 kHz with 500 ns dead time and GaN at 100 kHz with 14 ns. Inverter efficiency was 98.5 percent for silicon and 98.2 percent for GaN. Motor efficiency rose from 66.3 to 73.1 percent and total drive efficiency from 65.3 to 71.8 percent, 6.5 points, with the sixth harmonic of torque reported as disappearing. The input filter went from a 2.7 µH inductor with a 660 µF electrolytic to no inductor and 44 µF of ceramics. [11]
That result is the correct way to read vendor efficiency claims: the GaN inverter itself was slightly less efficient at five times the frequency; the gain was in the motor, through lower ripple current and cleaner current near zero. TI's seminar material gives the capacitor side with numbers: 680 µF of electrolytic at 16 kHz against 170 µF of ceramic at 60 kHz and 110 µF at 100 kHz, with a current-ripple difference of 0.53 A RMS between 10 and 100 kHz at 10 A. Its white paper on audible noise attributes the sixth-harmonic whine of silicon drives to dead-time distortion at every 60 electrical degrees. [11] [10] [12] [13]
TI's 48 V reference design TIDA-010936 shows the loss side of raising frequency on GaN: about 9.66 W at 40 kHz and about 10.5 W at 80 kHz at 14.8 A RMS, close enough that the application brief calls the losses almost identical. The design guide's 99.3 percent peak efficiency at 40 kHz is a calculation, not a measurement, and the GaN device reached 117 °C at 15.6 A and 40 kHz with no heatsink against a 125 °C junction limit. A joint drive without airflow is therefore thermally bound well before it is electrically bound. [14] [1]
Reference designs sized for a joint
| Design | Devices | Input | Phase current | Switching | Board | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EPC91118 | EPC23104 ePower stage | 15 to 55 V | 10 A continuous, 15 A pulsed | 100 kHz, 50 ns dead time | 32 mm inverter in a 55 mm frame | Press release says 15 A continuous; EPC's blog says pulsed |
| EPC91120 | 3 × EPC23102 | 15 to 65 V | 7 A natural convection, 15 A with motor casing as heatsink, 30 A pulsed | 100 kHz, 50 ns | 32 mm | Over 80 percent DC-to-mechanical at 24 V; 26.5 N·m peak at 92 rpm; case rise under 40 °C |
| EPC91132 | EPC33110 co-packaged module | 10 to 60 V | 11 A continuous, 15 A pulsed | Up to 100 kHz | 23 mm inverter | Target stated as humanoid wrist joints |
| TI TIDA-010936 | 3 × LMG2100R044 | 12 to 60 V, 48 V nominal | 16 A continuous without heatsink at 25 °C | 40 to 80 kHz tested, 16.6 ns dead time | 68.6 × 70 mm | Ceramic DC link; 117 °C device at 15.6 A |
| TI TIDA-010979 | DRV7167, preview part | 48 V, 1 kW | Not stated on the page | Not stated | 70 mm diameter | EtherCAT and isolated shunt sensing; DRV7167 lists 100 A peak, 60 A RMS, up to 500 kHz |
Two patterns in the table matter more than any single number. The small EPC boards are sized for wrists and fingers at 10 to 15 A; the TI designs reach the 16 to 60 A class that elbows and some hips need; and nothing in the table reaches the 100 A hip case without a separate high-current board. Second, every continuous-current rating depends on a heatsink assumption, which for a joint means the actuator casing, so the number that applies is the one measured with the casing, as EPC's 7 A against 15 A shows. [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [14] [20] [21] [22]
The trade-off the vendor pages do not lead with
A GaN phase leg slews fast. Reviews of wide-bandgap drives report edge rates up to 50 V per nanosecond, and tests on a 7.5 kW motor up to 250 kHz and 40 kV per microsecond. At those rates the cable between inverter and winding behaves as a transmission line: reflected-wave overvoltage can reach twice the DC-link voltage at the motor terminals, and the partial-discharge inception voltage of the winding insulation falls by up to 38 percent when the rise time drops from 1,000 ns to 100 ns. The stress lands on winding insulation and bearings. [23] [24]
In a humanoid joint the cable is short, often inside the actuator, which limits the reflection; the insulation question does not go away, and a drive that switches at 100 kHz needs its EMI filtering designed for that frequency. Gate-drive complexity and device cost are also higher for GaN; no source found for this article quantifies either for a joint drive, so that is stated as a direction, not a number. [23] [1]
Power management: pack, bus, regeneration and heat
Commercial humanoid vendors publish runtime and swap times, not the architecture between pack and joint. Research platforms do. AGILOped puts two 26.1 V lithium-polymer packs in series for a 52.2 V bus feeding ten MyActuator X6-40 joints over CAN at about 4 kHz, with diode-isolated hot swap, a 12 V 200 W converter for electronics and a stated 1.5 to 2.5 h of runtime; it describes no battery-management system and handles thermal protection in software without numeric limits. The Berkeley Humanoid uses two DJI TB50 packs behind a power-manager board, EtherCAT at 1 to 4 kHz to the drivers and a 25 kHz driver loop, and does not model thermal derating. [25] [26]
Regeneration is the part of power management with a measured number. On the MIT Cheetah, Seok and colleagues reported that 63 percent of the negative mechanical work done by the motors was recovered to the batteries, with lithium-polymer charging efficiency above 95 percent, drivers drawing 60 A from a 100 V supply and a 20 kHz current loop. At 6 m/s the robot drew 973 W, of which 739 W, 76 percent, was Joule heating in the windings. That heating share, not the switching loss, is why the motor-efficiency gain in the Torino measurement is the number to watch: a cleaner current waveform lowers copper loss for the same torque. [27] [11]
Can humanoid robots work for eight hours? Battery, heat and charging
What to ask a vendor before choosing a joint drive
- Continuous phase current with the actuator casing as the only heatsink, at the robot's ambient, not at 25 °C on a bench.
- Measured losses at the switching frequency you will use; a calculated efficiency is not a measurement.
- Dead time and edge rate in volts per nanosecond, and the winding insulation rating of the motor it will drive.
- DC-link capacitance and type, and the bus-voltage ripple at peak current.
- Regenerative current path and the pack's charge-acceptance limit when the leg brakes.
Sources and verification
- Application of GaN FET in Humanoid Robots ↗Texas Instruments · Read 19 October 2026
Application brief, January 2025. Motor counts, current ranges, typical silicon switching frequencies and dead times, and board-area claims. Vendor statements.
- Unitree G1 specifications ↗Unitree Robotics · Read 19 October 2026
Undated. 9,000 mAh battery, 13-cell series pack, 54 V 5 A charger, about two hours. No watt-hour or nominal voltage stated.
- Unitree H1 specifications ↗Unitree Robotics · Read 19 October 2026
Undated. 15 Ah, 0.864 kWh, 67.2 V maximum; knee about 360 N·m.
- Figure unveils Figure 02 ↗PR Newswire reprint, source Figure AI · Read 19 October 2026
6 August 2024. 2.25 kWh pack, stated as 50 percent more energy. Company claim.
- Apptronik Apollo specifications ↗Apptronik · Read 19 October 2026
Undated. Hot-swappable packs with a four-hour runtime each. No watt-hour or voltage.
- Atlas specification sheet ↗Boston Dynamics · Read 19 October 2026
Sheet dated 23 December 2025. Four hours of battery, three-minute swap, 1.5 hour charge. No capacity or bus voltage.
- Unitree GO-M8010-6 motor ↗Unitree Robotics · Read 19 October 2026
Undated. 12 to 30 V, 24 V recommended, 23.7 N·m maximum torque, 40 A maximum current.
- CubeMars AK80-9 KV100 ↗CubeMars · Read 19 October 2026
Undated. 48 V, 9 N·m rated and 18 N·m peak, 10.3 A rated and 22.3 A peak.
- MyActuator X-series V4 product manual ↗MyActuator · Read 19 October 2026
Manual dated 11 February 2025, reached through the official download index. RMD-X8-P20-120 and RMD-X12-P20-320 ratings and stall table.
- Designing motor drives with GaN ↗Texas Instruments · Read 19 October 2026
Seminar material, 2024. DC-link capacitor sizing at 16, 60 and 100 kHz and current-ripple figures. Vendor statements.
- GaN devices for motor drive applications ↗Politecnico di Torino repository; IEEE WiPDA 2021 · Read 19 October 2026
Palma, Musumeci, Mandrile and Barba, IEEE WiPDA 2021, pages 146 to 151. Measured silicon versus GaN inverter on a 36 V, 5 A drive: motor and system efficiency, torque harmonics and input-filter size.
- Reducing audible noise in motor drives with GaN ↗Texas Instruments · Read 19 October 2026
White paper, June 2024. Dead-time distortion at each 60 electrical degrees and the resulting sixth harmonics in the audible range.
- Dead-time losses in GaN and MOSFET motor drives ↗Energies 17(15):3855, MDPI · Read 19 October 2026
August 2024. Abstract states lower overall losses for GaN at shorter dead times.
- TIDA-010936: 48 V, 16 A three-phase GaN inverter reference design guide ↗Texas Instruments · Read 19 October 2026
Design guide TIDUF68, February 2024, revised March 2025. Measured losses at 40 and 80 kHz, ceramic DC link, device temperature without a heatsink. The 99.3 percent peak efficiency is a calculation, not a measurement.
- EPC introduces the EPC91118 GaN motor-drive reference design for humanoid joints ↗Efficient Power Conversion · Read 19 October 2026
Press release of 10 July 2025. 15 to 55 V, 100 kHz, 50 ns dead time, 32 mm inverter. The 15 A figure is described as continuous here and as pulsed in EPC's own blog.
- EPC91118 design notes ↗Efficient Power Conversion · Read 19 October 2026
Blog of 5 August 2025. 10 A continuous and 15 A pulsed; EPC23104 on-resistance 8.7 milliohm typical; tests at 50 to 150 rpm.
- EPC91120 three-phase inverter for robot joints ↗Efficient Power Conversion · Read 19 October 2026
Blog of 20 November 2025. 15 to 65 V, 7 A natural convection, 15 A with the motor casing as heatsink, 30 A pulsed, over 80 percent DC-to-mechanical efficiency at 24 V, 26.5 N·m peak at 92 rpm. Bench data by the vendor.
- EPC91132 evaluation board ↗Efficient Power Conversion · Read 19 October 2026
Undated product page. 10 to 60 V, 11 A continuous, 15 A pulsed, 23 mm inverter, humanoid wrist joints as the target.
- EPC33110 co-packaged GaN module for humanoid joints ↗Efficient Power Conversion · Read 19 October 2026
Press release of 4 September 2026. Switching up to 100 kHz and 11 A continuous per phase.
- LMG2100R044 product page ↗Texas Instruments · Read 19 October 2026
Undated datasheet summary: 100 V, 4.4 milliohm, 35 A, 33 ns propagation delay.
- TIDA-010979: 48 V, 1 kW robot joint motor control with industrial communication ↗Texas Instruments · Read 19 October 2026
Reference design, October 2025 to March 2026. 70 mm board, EtherCAT. No current, frequency or efficiency figures on the page.
- DRV7167 product page ↗Texas Instruments · Read 19 October 2026
Undated, marked preview. 100 A peak, 60 A RMS, 2.2 milliohm per FET, PWM up to 500 kHz. The page shows two different maximum voltages.
- Wide-bandgap drives and motor insulation: a review ↗IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications 60(3), 2024 · Read 19 October 2026
Vala et al. Slew rates up to 50 V per nanosecond, reflected-wave overvoltage up to twice the DC-link voltage, partial-discharge inception voltage reduced by up to 38 percent between 1,000 ns and 100 ns rise times.
- High-frequency and high-dv/dt inverter effects on motor insulation ↗IEEE Access 9, 2021 · Read 19 October 2026
Xu et al. Tests up to 250 kHz and 40 kV per microsecond on a 7.5 kW motor; overvoltage stress on winding insulation and bearings.
- AGILOped: an open humanoid platform ↗arXiv; IEEE ARM 2025 · Read 19 October 2026
Ficht, Denninger and Behnke, September 2025. Two 26.1 V packs in series for 52.2 V, ten MyActuator X6-40 joints, diode hot-swap, 12 V 200 W converter, 1.5 to 2.5 h runtime.
- Berkeley Humanoid: a research platform for learning-based control ↗arXiv · Read 19 October 2026
31 July 2024. Two DJI TB50 batteries, a power manager board, EtherCAT at 1 to 4 kHz, 25 kHz driver loop, actuator peak and sustained torque.
- Design principles for energy-efficient legged locomotion and implementation on the MIT Cheetah robot ↗MIT DSpace; IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics 20(3), 2015 · Read 19 October 2026
Seok et al. Sixty-three percent of negative mechanical work recovered to the batteries, charging efficiency over 95 percent, Joule heating share at 6 m/s, driver current and voltage.
Evidence limits
- Unitree does not state the G1 pack's watt-hours or nominal voltage. A 13-cell series pack implies a bus near 48 V; that is a derivation from the cell count, not a published figure.
- Tesla's Optimus pack and bus figures circulate from a 2022 presentation and are not on any Tesla page; they are left out.
- Infineon's humanoid motor-control material with numbers appears on distributor pages, not on Infineon's own site. Navitas has no humanoid-specific electrical claim. Neither is cited for figures.
- No source quantifies the extra gate-drive complexity or cost of GaN in a joint drive. That trade-off is stated without numbers.
- The TI LMG3100 part number sometimes attached to these designs does not exist in TI's catalogue. The parts here are LMG2100R044 and the preview DRV7167.
Article history
Added after reader searches for GaN power stages and power management in humanoids. Vendor design guides, manufacturer specification pages and three peer-reviewed papers checked on 19 October 2026.
Report a correction